Warning: Don’t be the idiot who unintentionally shares private photos on Google+ Events Party Mode (from Androinica)

Google+ has a new Events “Party Mode” feature that lets users accept invitations to an event and then auto share their pictures; it’s like a mix of Instant Upload and Samsung Shareshot. The way it works is that someone sets up an event – wedding, party, recital, etc. – and invites other Google+ members to that event. Once users check in, there’s an option to enable “Party mode,” which will then auto-upload your photos to a shared photo stream from everyone who has joined that event.

Sounds cool, right? Well, it is as long as you pay attention to the details of the event. I accepted a bunch of Google+ Event invitations the day it launched, including the uber-popular one associated with the Google I/O after party. But the next day, I suddenly realized that Google+ keeps accepting photos until the time that event creator sets it to end. So if someone fails to exit party mode when leaving a party at 10:00 PM, photos you take will continue to be added until the event closes at 11:00 PM.

How to exit party mode before an event completes

  • Swipe down the notification bar and tap on “Party mode is on”
  • Then disable by unchecking the “Party Mode” button on the following page.

How to share without turning on Party Mode

  • Don’t enable party mode when you start (it’s set to OFF by default)
  • Tap the camera icon in the navigation bar and choose “Take photo” or “Choose photos”
  • Select the photo(s) and video(s) that you wish to share
  • Let Party Mode upload files manually

[continue HERE]

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s